I came across this blog post “Madame Writer’s 20 Questions” while looking for the best way to tell you a little more about myself. I will be introducing myself bit by bit and share with you more about myself and my reading habits as this blog grows. To start, I thought these 20 questions are the best way to introduce myself. This is, after all, a book blog. 😉

In a book series, how many books are too many? 

I don’t think there is a specific number. I think as long as the series is entertaining and has fans, the number of books doesn’t matter. It is, however, important to know when to stop.

How do I feel about cliffhangers?

Cliffhangers can be good, as long as the time between releases is not too long (which frustrates me!) I prefer the book to have some sort of resolution. A good example would be the Harry Potter series. Each book has its own storyline, but in the end, they all help to move the main story arch forward.

Do I prefer hardcopy or paperback books?

I’ve always prefered hardcopy books. They just feel more durable! Plus I hate it when the spine of my book gets cracked. That being said, most of the books I own are paperbacks. It seems as if publishers don’t often send many hardcovers to South Africa. 

What is my favourite book?

How can you ask me that?! There are so many to choose from!

Each book has a special place in my heart, and I do try to love them all equally. If I were to be stranded on a desert island and were only allowed a few books, I would definitely grab my Harry Potter and Jane Austen box sets. 

Do I have a least favourite book?

I might not be able to choose my favourite book, but I sure can choose my current least favourite book. It is definitely Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch. I had to read it for a book club, but I never managed to finish it. Unfortunately, I could not relate to the main character, Theodore, which is why I stopped reading it. The Goldfinch is a favourite with many readers, but I am baffled by this. But seeing as it won a Pulitzer Prize, I might need to give it another shot.

What are my thoughts on love triangles? Yes or no?

I don’t mind love triangles. If the love triangle is well written and the one character doesn’t end up annoying me, I am perfectly fine with it! However, I have to admit that I can’t think of an example, where a writer managed to write a good love triangle. 

The most recent book I just couldn’t finish.

I always try to finish reading the books I pick up. I can only think of three books I never finished. The latest one was Samantha Hasting’s Sleeping Brat. I originally wanted to read it because I like fairy tale retellings. But the narrator irritated me from the first page until I gave up. 

A book I’m currently reading.

At any given time, you will find several books on my Goodreads currently-reading shelf. It’s not necessarily that I jump between books… it is more like, I choose a book that suits my mood… which changes often! Luckily, I have a great memory and picking up a book weeks later feels like unpausing a song. 

At this moment I am reading The Last Necromancer by C.J. Archer as well as Winter by Marissa Meyer. 

Last book I recommended to someone. 

Sadly, my life isn’t filled with many booklovers, and most of my recommendations fall on deaf ears. But the last book recommendation I made was Under Our Skin by Donald McRae. It is an amazing book and helped me to better understand the complicated history of my home country, South Africa, during Apartheid.

The oldest book I’ve read

I am actually not 100% sure about this, but I think the oldest book would have to be Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility. It was first published in 1811 and was originally published anonymously.

The newest book I’ve read.

I don’t normally buy books as soon as they are published. However, my latest purchase included Gailbraith’s Lethal White which was published in September 2018.

Who’s my favourite author?

This question is just as difficult to answer as naming my favourite book. I would say that it all depends on the mood I am in. Somedays I like reading murder mysteries and other days they bore me. At the moment it would have to be a tie between Robert Galbraith (JK Rowling’s pen name) and Sarah J Maas. 

A book I dislike that everyone seems to like

This one is easy. That book would have to be Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. If I remember correctly, I didn’t even manage to finish the first few chapters. Strangely enough, I enjoyed another novel by the same author. 

Bookmarks or dog ears

Hands down, bookmarks win this contest! I don’t believe in damaging any book, from folding the cover to creating wallpaper with pages from a book. Besides, in an emergency, almost anything can be turned into a bookmark. I’ve used tissues, old photos and notes when I couldn’t find a bookmark.

A book I can always reread.

I have quite a few books that I could reread. I also sometimes like to reread a good series before the next book comes out. I often reread my favourite classics, such as Pride and Prejudice (I’ve read this at least 10 times!) I also enjoyed Frederica or Sylvester by Georgette Heyer tremendously. Ms Heyer’s writing is sure to make you laugh!

Can I listen to music while reading?

It depends on the music that is playing as well as how loud the music is. Silence doesn’t always help me to concentrate. Even when I am working or studying, I have some sort of music playing in the background. I do however prefer to listen to classical music, instrumental covers or anime soundtracks when I am reading. I’ve noticed that the correct music can add enjoyment to a book. Recently I’ve been listening to YouTube playlist called Ambient Piano for Reading

One POV or multiple POV’s?

Multiple POV’s can make a story more interesting, but it can also make it more difficult to follow. In the end, I think it all depends on the author and their writing style. When an author switches between various POV’s and doesn’t make the switch obvious, it can be very confusing for the reader. Scarlett and Cress, books 2 and 3 of Marissa Meyers’s The Lunar Chronicles, are good examples of how an author can switch between multiple POV’s. Marissa Meyer manages to tell the new story without forgetting about her old characters. 

Do I read a book in one sitting or over multiple days?

This all depends on the book I’m reading as well as how much time I have available. As I mentioned earlier, I am a slave to my moods and emotions. I can go for weeks where all I want to do is sit and read books. Those are the weeks where I can easily finish a book in a day. That being said, finishing a book in one day can be exhausting emotionally, and the book will have to be interesting. I’ve managed to finish both A Court of Mist and Fury and A Court of Wings and Ruin in one day. They both were written by Sarah J Maas and forms part of the series A Court of Thorns and Roses. 

One book you read because of the cover.

I can’t think of one specific book that I read simply because of its cover. However, I believe that the cover is very important. That is normally what first draws my attention to the book when I am browsing on Goodreads, Amazon or even in a bookstore. Since purple is my favourite colour, many friends and family have gotten me a gift simply because it is in purple. So, I once received a book (Frederica by Georgette Heyer) based on the fact that the cover was completely purple with silhouettes of couples dancing. This book is now one of my favourites, and I reread it whenever I feel like I need to laugh. 

That I believe was the last question on the list. I hope you feel as if you know a little more about me. So please feel free to comment and ask any additional question relating to my reading habits! Oh, and remember to join me on social media and next week again! 🙂

Leave a comment